Last updated on Friday, 13 June 2008

If you only see one frame - click here for the full frames version of the A to Z

Vezina Trophy Winners

more about the Vezina Trophy 
(the NHL best goalie as picked by the General Managers
 - prior to the 1981-82 season, the goalkeeper(s) of the team
 allowing the fewest number of goals during the regular season
were awarded the Vezina Trophy.)

1926-27 George Hainsworth (Montreal Canadiens)
1927-28 George Hainsworth (Montreal Canadiens)
1928-29 George Hainsworth (Montreal Canadiens)
1929-30 Tiny Thompson (Boston Bruins)
1930-31 Roy Worters (New York Americans)
1931-32 Charlie Gardiner (Chicago Blackhawks)
1932-33 Tiny Thompson (Boston Bruins)
1933-34 Charlie Gardiner (Chicago Blackhawks)
1934-35 Lorne Chabot (Chicago Blackhawks)
1935-36 Tiny Thompson (Boston Bruins)
1936-37 Norm Smith (Detroit Red Wings)
1937-38 Tiny Thompson (Boston Bruins)
1938-39 Frank Brimsek (Boston Bruins)
1939-40 Dave Kerr (New York Rangers)
1940-41 Turk Broda (Toronto Maple Leafs)
1941-42 Frank Brimsek (Boston Bruins)
1942-43 Johnny Mowers (Detroit Red Wings)
1943-44 Bill Durnan (Montreal Canadiens)
1944-45 Bill Durnan (Montreal Canadiens)
1945-46 Bill Durnan (Montreal Canadiens)
1946-47 Bill Durnan (Montreal Canadiens)
1947-48 Turk Broda (Toronto Maple Leafs)
1948-49 Bill Durnan (Montreal Canadiens)
1949-50 Bill Durnan (Montreal Canadiens)
1950-51 Al Rollins (Toronto Maple Leafs)
1951-52 Terry Sawchuk (Detroit Red Wings)
1952-53 Terry Sawchuk (Detroit Red Wings)
1953-54 Harry Lumley (Toronto Maple Leafs)
1954-55 Terry Sawchuk (Detroit Red Wings)
1955-56 Jacques Plante (Montreal Canadiens)
1956-57 Jacques Plante (Montreal Canadiens)
1957-58 Jacques Plante (Montreal Canadiens)
1958-59 Jacques Plante (Montreal Canadiens)
1959-60 Jacques Plante (Montreal Canadiens)
1960-61 Johnny Bower (Toronto Maple Leafs)
1961-62 Jacques Plante (Montreal Canadiens)
1962-63 Glenn Hall (Chicago Blackhawks)
1963-64 Charlie Hodge (Montreal Canadiens)
1964-65 Terry Sawchuk & Johnny Bower (Toronto Maple Leafs)
1965-66 Lorne Worsley & Charlie Hodge (Montreal Canadiens)
1966-67 Glenn Hall & Denis DeJordy (Chicago Blackhawks)
1967-68 Lorne Worsley & Rogatien Vachon (Montreal Canadiens)
1968-69 Jacques Plante & Glenn Hall (St Louis Blues)
1969-70 Tony Esposito (Chicago Blackhawks)
1970-71 Ed Giacomin & Gilles Villmure (New York Rangers)
1971-72 Tony Esposito & Gary Smith (Chicago Blackhawks)
1972-73 Ken Dryden (Montreal Canadiens)
1973-74 Tony Esposito (Chicago Blackhawks) tied with Bernie Parent (Philadelphia Flyers)
1974-75 Bernie Parent (Philadelphia Flyers)
1975-76 Ken Dryden (Montreal Canadiens)
1976-77 Ken Dryden & Michel Larocque (Montreal Canadiens)
1977-78 Ken Dryden & Michel Larocque (Montreal Canadiens)
1978-79 Ken Dryden & Michel Larocque (Montreal Canadiens)
1979-80 Bob Sauve & Don Edwards (Buffalo Sabres)
1980-81 Denis Herron & Michel Larocque & Richard Sevigny (Montreal Canadiens)
1981-82 Billy Smith (New York Islanders)
1982-83 Pete Peeters (Boston Bruins)
1983-84 Tom Barrasso (Buffalo Sabres)
1984-85 Pelle Lindbergh (Philadelphia Flyers)
1985-86 John Vanbiesbrouck (New York Rangers)
1986-87 Ron Hextall (Philadelphia Flyers)
1987-88 Grant Fuhr (Edmonton Oilers)
1988-89 Patrick Roy (Montreal Canadiens)
1989-90 Patrick Roy (Montreal Canadiens)
1990-91 Ed Belfour (Chicago Blackhawks)
1991-92 Patrick Roy (Montreal Canadiens)
1992-93 Ed Belfour (Chicago Blackhawks
1993-94 Dominik Hasek (Buffalo Sabres)
1994-95 Dominik Hasek (Buffalo Sabres)
1995-96 Jim Carey (Washington Capitals)
1996-97 Dominik Hasek (Buffalo Sabres)
1997-98 Dominik Hasek (Buffalo Sabres)
1998-99 Dominik Hasek (Buffalo Sabres)
1999-00 Olaf Kolzig (Washington Capitals)
2000-01 Dominik Hasek (Buffalo Sabres)
2001-02 Jose Theodore (Montreal Canadiens)
2002-03 Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils)
2003-04 Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils)
2004-05 No NHL hockey played during this season
2005-06 Miikka Kiprusoff (Calgary Flames)
2006-07 Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils)
2007-08 Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils)

page hits