Last updated on Wednesday, 14 June 2006

If you only see one frame - click here for the full frames version of the A to Z

Entries without a separate letter page are filed on the main O page

GootooIndexo   Oa Ob Oc Od Of Oh Ok Ol Om On Or Os Ot Ow Ox
BrowseoPage O Oa Ob Oc Od Of Oh Ok Ol Om On Or Os Ot Ow Ox
Oberhausen Arena
Oberhausen, Germany.  The Arena was owned by the Ogden Group (Ottawa) and was the first NHL standard arena in Germany.  Hosted the final of the European Cup in 1996.  
Home ice for : Ratingen Lions
Capacity : 9,425
Ice pad size : 
Founded 1951. The top league in the German Democratic Republic. 
i. Formed with seven teams - Einheit Berliner Bär, VOPO Berlin, Wismut Frankenhausen, Vorwärts Crimmitschau, BSG Chemie Weißwasser, Einheit Dresden and Fortschritt Apolda. 
ii. Six more teams joined after the first season - Motor Berlin, Uni Berlin (university team), TSC Oberschönweide, Dynamo/Empor Rostock, Vorwärts Berlin and Einheit Schönheide.  
Oberrauch, Robert (- )
International Career : Played for Italy in the 1998 Olympics.
Obikawa, Maiko (- )
International Career : Played for Japan (Women) in the 1998 Olympics.
Obloj, Tadesusz (1950- )
Born in Katowice, Poland. Forward. 
International Career : Played 151 (58 goals) games for Poland (including the 1972, 1976 & 1980 Olympics).
Club Career : Played for Baildon Katowice 1967-82 and Polonia Bytom 1982-83.
Obodiac, Stan (1922-1984)
He scored 24 points (12+12) in the 1951 World Championship and his sweater from that series is in the Hockey Hall of Fame. During World War Two he was an RCAF bomber pilot. When he finished playing in Britain he became the Public Relations Director for the Toronto Maple Leafs 1958-64. Author of the book "No Substitute for Victory".
International Career : Played for Canada in 1951 (Lethbridge Maple Leafs).
Club Career : Played for Wembley Lions 1948-49. Player/coach for Ayr Raiders 1954-55.
O'Brien, Dennis (1949- )
Born in Port Hope, Ontario, Canada. Defenceman.
Club Career : Played for St Catharines Black Hawks 1968-69, Iowa Stars 1969-70, Cleveland Barons & Minnesota North Stars 1970-71, Minnesota North Stars 1971-77, Minnesota North Stars & Colorado Rockies & Cleveland Barons & Boston Bruins 1977-78, Boston Bruins & Rochester Americans 1978-79 and Boston Bruins & Binghamton Dusters 1979-80.
O'Brien, E (- )
Club Career : Played for Montreal AAA
Medals : Won the Stanley Cup in 1894.
O'Brien, John Ambrose (1885-1968)
Born in Renfrew, Ontario, Canada. Right-wing. He participated at all levels of hockey - as a player, financier and founder. Together with Jimmy Gardner, he was largely responsible for the founding of the National Hockey Association and the Montreal Canadiens. O'Brien was also the owner of the Cobalt Silver Kings, Haileybury HC and the Renfrew Creamery Kings
Honours :
Elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1962 (builder).
O'Brien, Mike (- )
Born in Dublin, Ireland.
International Career :
Played for Great Britain 1952-61.
O'Brien Trophy
i. The O'Brien Trophy was donated, in 1910, to the National Hockey Association by Senator M J O'Brien in memory of his son John Ambrose O'Brien. The trophy was awarded to the league champions. 
1909-10 Montreal Wanderers
1910-11 Ottawa Senators
1911-12 Quebec Bulldogs
1912-13 Quebec Bulldogs 
1913-14 Toronto Blue Shirts
1914-15 Ottawa Senators
1915-16 Montreal Canadiens
1916-17 Montreal Canadiens
ii. After the demise of the National Hockey Association in 1917, the National Hockey League adopted the trophy and awarded it to the NHL league champions. With the donation of the Prince of Wales Trophy to the NHL in 1924, the league executive decided to retired the O'Brien Trophy.
1917-18 Toronto Arenas
1918-19 Montreal Canadiens
1919-20 Ottawa Silver Seven 
1920-21 Ottawa Senators 
1921-22 Toronto St Pats 
1922-23 Ottawa Senators 
iii. In 1928, the NHL decided to award the O'Brien Trophy to the Canadian team with the most points at the end of the regular season. 

1927-28 Montreal Canadiens
1928-29 Montreal Canadiens 
1929-30 Montreal Maroons
1990-31 Montreal Canadiens
1931-32 Montreal Canadiens
1932-33 Toronto Maple Leafs 
1933-34 Toronto Maple Leafs 
1934-35 Toronto Maple Leafs
1935-36 Montreal Maroons 
1936-37 Montreal Canadiens 
1937-38 Toronto Maple Leafs 
iv. In 1939, the O'Brien Trophy became the award made to the losing Stanley Cup finalist. The trophy was not formerly awarded between 1939 and 1943. It wasn't until 1944 that the teams from that five-year period had their names inscribed on the trophy. 

1938-39 Toronto Maple Leafs
1939-40 Toronto Maple Leafs 
1940-41 Detroit Red Wings
1941-42 Detroit Red Wings
1942-43 Boston Bruins
1943-44 Chicago Blackhawks
1944-45 Detroit Red Wings
1945-46 Boston Bruins
1946-47 Montreal Canadiens
1947-48 Detroit Red Wings 
1948-49 Detroit Red Wings 
1949-50 New York Rangers  
v. The O'Brien Trophy was officially (and finally, maybe) retired by the NHL at the end of the 1949-50 season. 
Obukhovets Sports Palace
St Petersburg, Russia. 
Home ice for : Spartak St Petersburg
Capacity : 2,500
Ice pad size : 200 feet x 98 feet

page hits